double date

Discuss idioms and slang from different English speaking countries.
Post Reply
James Trotta
Site Admin
Posts: 1140
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 10:08 am
Location: South Korea
Contact:

double date

Post by James Trotta » Tue Apr 13, 2010 12:34 pm

Sometimes my wife tries to set people up and when she does we offer to do a double date so the people meeting for the first time don't feel too much pressure.

하주형
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 3:08 am

Re: double date

Post by 하주형 » Thu Apr 15, 2010 3:29 pm

It is strange to go out on a double date with someone you don't know.

Kyong Min
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:55 pm

Re: double date

Post by Kyong Min » Sat Apr 17, 2010 9:16 am

I have never been on a double date, but I think it would be awkward.

Goeun Jeon
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 12:23 pm

Re: double date

Post by Goeun Jeon » Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:03 pm

These days, double date doesn't seem to be the trend. But I have seen it in the drama "Boys Before Flowers" in 2009, so I guess it's still not so much old-fashioned.

Yun Heejeong
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:01 pm

Re: double date

Post by Yun Heejeong » Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:23 am

I don't like double date. It bothers me to mind another couple.

Han Dong Geol
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 3:58 am

Re: double date

Post by Han Dong Geol » Thu May 06, 2010 11:48 am

i never been to double. it will be backward to see my friend talking funny to his girlfriend.

Yang Seung-Hoon
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: double date

Post by Yang Seung-Hoon » Mon May 10, 2010 2:48 pm

I heard from my friend who have been to France as exchange student that French student sometimes enjoy double date.

lee geo wool
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 10:29 am

Re: double date

Post by lee geo wool » Mon May 10, 2010 3:58 pm

I've never been on a double date, but that sounds really fun. So now all I need is a boyfriend.

SeokhyunHong
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 11:23 am

Re: double date

Post by SeokhyunHong » Mon May 10, 2010 4:35 pm

Going on a double date with other couple is always fun because I could spend less

leesso
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:57 pm

Re: double date

Post by leesso » Mon May 10, 2010 5:36 pm

Double date is not that common in Korea whereas in America I found out many couples do double date.

Jae Eun Cho
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 10:07 am

Re: double date

Post by Jae Eun Cho » Tue May 11, 2010 12:36 pm

I always wanted to go double date with my friends since I was a student, but I didn't have opportunity to go until now.

Bo-kyung, yoon
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 9:04 am

Re: double date

Post by Bo-kyung, yoon » Mon May 17, 2010 1:03 pm

I really want to go double, tripple or whatever date someday.. It'll be really fun ! especially at a ski resort, or amusement park.

cls6100
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 8:41 am

Re: double date

Post by cls6100 » Mon May 17, 2010 2:54 pm

Kyong Min wrote:I have never been on a double date, but I think it would be awkward.
I have never done a double date.
You would better use this sentence

한지웅
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 1:49 pm

Re: double date

Post by 한지웅 » Fri May 21, 2010 4:42 pm

Last week I was asked if my girlfriend and I would go out on a double date with another couple but I said no.

Post Reply